THE CURMUDGEON’S ON OBEYING TRAFFIC SIGNS AND LAWS BY NEALE MCCLINTOCK

THE CURMUDGEON’S

ON OBEYING TRAFFIC SIGNS AND LAWS

NEALE MCCLINTOCK

16 JUNE ’15

Around a year ago, some of you may remember my “To heck with it, I will break a traffic law today!” And if you remember the caper, it involved the lane marking lines, the dividers if you prefer, and willfully crossing a double solid line. My conscience demands that I confess to the fact that I did it! In a very crooked segment of Gorton road I foolishly and with intent, let, first my left front tire, followed by my left rear tire cross into the forbidden zone. Sadly, I feel no great pang of guilt from this, though I know I did a bad thing.

What does that paragraph have to do with this topic? /well I found out that you caN make people angry with and at you by observing some signs!

I was diving on another crooked road when I came o a sign that said”Do Not Pass!” Not knowing of the danger I was being cautioned for, I stopped. I waited. And waited and waited some more. Even the people behind me grew impatient and I started to hear horns and angry shouts. I looked in the rear view mirror and saw a long line of autos of all sorts and a few semi tractor trailers in back of me. Some of them were really angry and were flashing an angry finger motion toward the sign. Finally they got mad enough to cross the double solid line and pass me and they completely ignored the “DO NOT PASS” sign. Boy, I am glad there were no police around. They would be very busy writing tickets for double violations.

Having learned that breaking traffic laws was not a good thing to do a year ago, I finally turned around and found an alternate route. That acti0n caused a FEW FINGER WAVES TOO.

Leave a Reply

